Current BC/Yukon Winners

Raymond & Tracy Bredenhof- Abbotsford, BC

Canada’s Outstanding Young Farmers Program (COYF) is a unique program designed to recognize farmers and farm couples who exemplify excellence in their profession and promote the tremendous contribution to agriculture. The program is open to farmers or couples who derive at least two-thirds of their income from farming operations.

British Columbia  is one of seven regions. Each region holds an event where local nominees are judged on specific criteria. All regional winners represent their areas at an annual national event where they compete to be named Canada’s Outstanding Young Farmers.

To read how this years’ British Columbia award winners exemplify the ideals of our program click below.

Read their Story

2021 Nominees

Is this you or someone you know?

Read their Story


Canada’s Outstanding Young Farmers Program is designed to recognize young farmers that exemplify excellence in their profession. Eligible nominees must be farm operators between the ages of 18 and 39 who derive a minimum of two-thirds of their income from their farm operations. Each year one farming couple is selected from each of the program’s seven Regional Recognition Events to represent their respective region at the National Recognition Event.




View all

Upcoming Events

BC Regional Event
March 2022

View Details

OYF National Event
Nov 24, 2021 - Dec 12, 2021

View Details

Regional Sponsors

Click here for information on national and regional sponsorship opportunities with Canada’s Outstanding Young Farmers.


The OYF Memorial Scholarships were established in memory of the late Martin Streef, president of Streef Produce Ltd., a family-run fresh fruit and vegetable business in Woodstock Ontario, to help future generations of Canadians pursue their passion for agriculture.

In 1996, Streef was recognized as both Ontario’s and Canada’s Outstanding Young Farmer. He died in April 2008.


Contact Us

Brian Pauls
Regional Chair

Email: brianpauls@icloud.com
Phone: 604-991-6969

Steve Saccomano
Nomination Chair

Email: cssacco@telus.net
Phone: 1604-855-5319

Kevin Klippenstein

Email: klipppersorganics@gmail.com
Phone: 604-316-3863

Sara Harker
Past Chair

Email: rusticroots@nethop.net
Phone: 250-499-8909