Atlantic Winners

Congratulations to this years’ OYF Regional award winners!

Canada’s 2019 Atlantic Outstanding Young Farmers:

Brae, PEI – Justin & Laura Rogers

As owners of Picturesque Farms located at Brae, PEI Justin & Laura Rogers maintain a diverse business model. They produce beef, seed grain, commercial grain & soybeans and corn & forages on their 500+ acre farm.

Justin began his farming career when he purchased a calf at the age of 8, his first tractor at 13 and 50% of the 6th generation family farm from his uncle at the age of 21. This was the start of his seed potato business.

While attending the NS Ag College to obtain his B Sc, majoring in mechanization and business Justin met Laura who was also taking her BSc in Environmental Studies. Laura went on to obtain her Education degree and continues to teach high school.When Justin and Laura married in 2004, they purchased the remaining 50% of the family farm from his parents.

In operating their 7th generation farm, the Roger’s mission is a diverse business model, quality products, good customer service, strong financial health, secure future land health while making contributions to their community.  In order to achieve their missions they have converted some of their commercial grain production into pedigreed seed. With the pedigreed seed has come grain cleaning, custom seed treating, a focus on genetics and assisting customers with agronomics and crop planning.

Through their work experience and community involvement Justin & Laura have worked closely and collaborated with many farmers, community members and businesses. Those experiences have developed strong ties to their community and increased their appreciation for the great place in which they live with their 2 children Luke & Mary.

Past Winners

2018 Atlantic OYF Regional Winners

Robert Anderson and Jill Ebbett and family


2017 Atlantic Regional winners

Jolene and Lauchie MacEachern, Folly River Farms Limited

Regional Alumni

2019 – Justin & Laura Rogers

2018 – Jill Ebbett & Robert Anderson, Glassville, NB

2017 – Jolene and Lauchie MacEachern, Debert, NS

2016 – Andrew and Jennifer Lovell, Keswick Ridge, NB

2015 – David and Sara Simmons, Little Rapids, NF

2014 – Andrew and Heidi Lawless, Kinkora PE

2013 – James and Amanda Kinsman, Berwick, NS

2012 – Mark and Sally Bernard, Freetown, PE

2011 – Geoff and Jennifer Bishop, Round Hill, NS

2010 – Josh Oulton and Patricia Bishop, Port Williams, NS

2009 – Greg and Tania MacKenzie, Stratford, PE

2008 – Wayne and Nicole Oulton, Martock, NS

2007 – John and Clair Green, Springfield, PE

2006 – Marc and Krista Schurman, Kensington, PE

2005 – Steve Reeves and Jessica Francis, Freetown, PE

2004 – Jack Thompson and Rhonda MacDougall, Antigonish, NS

2003 – Brian and Edna Newcombe, Port Williams, NS

2002 – Jim and Tricia Lorraine, Truro, NS

2001 – Chris and Karen Brown, Lunenburg, NS

2000 – Wiebe and Mary Dykstra, Havelock, NB

1999 – Phil McLean and Pauline Duivenvoorden, Cornerbrook, NF

1998 – Edwin and Dawn Jewell, York PE

1997 – Willy and Sherma Versteeg, Milford Station, NS

1996 – Sylvain and Roberte Theriault, Grand Falls, NB

1995 – David and Karen Coburn, Mouth of Keswick, NB

1994 – David and Phyllis McCullum, Sussex, NB

1993 – Vernon and Bertha Campbell, Kensington, PE

1992 – Charles and Doris Keddy, Kentville, NS

1991 –  Doug and Heather Hennigar, Kings County, NS

1990 – Neville and Louise Delong, Perth-Andover, NB

1989 – Donald and Darlene Downe, Wileville, NS

1988 – John and Thelma Rovers, Antigonish, NS

1987 – Bruce and Mary Rand, Canning, NS

1986 – Arddianus & Janet DeGraaf, Port Williams, NS

1985 – Earl and Heather Anne Kidston, Kings Co. NS

1984 – Robert and Marie Wilson, Falmouth, NS

1983 – David and Marilyn Carlisle, Mouth of Keswick, NB

1982 –  David and Anna Acton, Sackville, NB

1981 – Peter and Brenda Pope, Belleisle Creek, NB

1980 – Allison and Ronalda Woodworth, Berwick, NS

* bold denotes a national winner!